Special Thanks

Thank you for all your help with the 2023 parade!

The DoozyDo Parade could never have gone from a quirky idea to an actual event without the assistance of The Indispensables. So, special thanks to –

Kevin Russell, for his artistic eye, his indefatigable and expert web construction and, with Fiona Russell, for trusting us with their ward, Gertrude the Gargoyle, last year. Kevin “got” the parade immediately and cheerfully put in months of work on the art and website. Ever Forward!

Diane Porcella, Executive Director of Northampton Neighbors, the human Swiss Army knife, combining creative ideas about how to make the parade more inclusive and more fun with a well-stocked rolodex, diplomatic skills, and a willingness to cheerfully plug in pretty much anywhere else needed.

Todd Barron of Applied Mortgage, for his critical early support, sage advice, first-ever financial contribution to the parade (at the Supreme Doozy Donor level), careful transport of Gertrude to and from the parade, and for his buoyant ability to see obstacles as opportunities.

Debin Bruce who put in months of work to make sure that the parade would be not only fun but safe, who led us in the creation of a detailed safety plan, and who contributed in myriad other ways — among them, arranging for drone videography at the start of the parade…and, oh yeah, balloons!

George Kriebel, a Renaissance Man if there ever was one — sculptor and paper-mache wizard, faithful note-taker, gear-head and vehicle organizer. Ready with clay, pen, drills and shims wherever necessary! This year, George also created the costume for the parade’s Grand Fromage.

Sue Hawes, who, together with Diane Porcella, has created and maintained the information infrastructure necessary for other parade organizers to do their jobs, including multiple spreadsheets and document folders for teams, sponsors, nonprofits, volunteers, vehicles, promotional opportunities and business logos, as well as the parade’s email account. Sue has managed the often conflicting pressures and demands of that job gracefully and diligently.

Thanks also to

The DoozyDo Parade “Cheese Shop,” each of whom helped to make the parade a reality –

  • Todd Barron
  • Jeanne Barron
  • David Bliss
  • Debin Bruce
  • Denise Elliott
  • Naomi Gerstel
  • Ay Ling Han
  • Marcia Holden
  • George Kreibel
  • Jan Levy
  • Diane Porcella
  • Donna Salloom
  • Linda Scott
  • Suzanne Slater
  • Nina Wilder

The Board of Northampton Neighbors, for believing in an offbeat project and supporting it all the way

The following members of the Northampton Neighbors Board and the “Cheese Shop” parade organizing group who started peer-to-peer fundraising pages: Todd Barron, Janet Bennett, David Bliss, Jonathan Daube, Denise Elliott, Marcia Holden, George Kriebel, and Linda Scott

The artists who together produced visual imagery for the parade’s website –
Dan Berger for his wonderfully drawn paraders, and
Dave Russo for the gracious gift of his imaginative Northampton street scenes

Kelsey Flynn, Dennis Lee and Monte Belmonte for serving as our Grand-ish Marshals and Masters of Ceremonies

Lt. Alan Borowski of the Northampton Police Department for help with planning, logistics and security

Vince Jackson, Exec. Dir., Jack Brown and Jessica Thompson of the Greater Northampton Chamber of Commerce for promotional and financial support

Brian Foote and Steve Sanderson of the Northampton Arts Council for assistance in securing Pulaski Park

Tracy Harrity, Executive Secretary in the Northampton Public School Central Office, for her kind and enthusiastic help distributing our DoozyDo school flyer to all principals and PTO reps who in turn informed the entire public-school community.

Melissa Dimetres, Events Coordinator for the Northampton Center for the Arts, for giving us a place to gather and step off at the start of the parade

Debra J’Anthony, Executive Director of the Academy of Music, for helping to make a post-parade gathering in Pulaski Park possible

Northampton Neighbors’ Communications Committee for help with all aspects of publicity and the Development Committee for support in fundraising for the parade

George Kreibel and Claire Frierson for our astounding gargoyle mascot and much more

Sarah Bachrach, PA, for on-scene emergency medical support

Shardool Parmar for helping our Grand-ish Marshals ride in style!

Anna Hoff (The Pride Event), Jennifer Therkelsen (The Food Bank of Western Massachusetts), Sarah Strong and, later, Natalie Ulrich (The Hot Chocolate Run) for generously answering our initial and ongoing questions about how to mount a large event

Paul Shoul for being ready with a camera and an expert eye whenever we needed them
Northampton Open Media for parade videography
Nina Kleinberg for bicycle-based event videography
Lainey Wood for additional photography
New England Public Media for photo of Monte Belmonte

Roger and Donna Salloom for contributing his sound equipment so our Grand-ish Marshals can be heard offering commentary on the parade

Nanci Forrestall, Northampton’s Director of Parking, for helping us secure convenient parking for cars and floats in the Roundhouse Lot

James McDonald and Amy Johnquest for early input into design and gracious permission to use the idea of a friendly gargoyle in our artwork

A heartfelt Thanks to all,
Mark Karpel
“The Grand Fromage”

Northampton Neighbors

Sign Up Your Team
Become a Sponsor